Happy Birthday, Daisy.

Welcome, Daisy.

Monday night, April 20th, I did a couple of loads of laundry, and a few other tasks, trying to get ready for your arrival. The urge to get these things done kept me from attending BSF. I don’t remember what time I went to sleep, but I woke up about 1:30 in the morning with pressure waves I just couldn’t sleep through. I think by 2 am Seth and I were timing contractions and talking about calling the Birth Center. We took Andy to Nick and Betsy’s house about 3:30 am (THANK YOU NICK AND BETSY!), stopped to pick up doughnuts for the midwives and nurses, and arrived at the Birth Center about 4 am.

After getting settled in, Judy ascertained that we were not yet 5cm. I was disappointed, and she suggested we take a little walk. At 6 am Judy checked on you again, and I was 6 cm dilated. But this is when the freight train took over! I am not exaggerating when I say that this hour was the most challenging hour of my life. For what might take a relatively quick labor 4 hours, we did in one hour! I was told to start pushing you out around 7 am, and you, my beautiful Daisy, were born at 7:15 Tuesday morning. They placed you on my chest, and I held you and said “Daisy! You’re so beautiful! I’m your momma!” And then you pooped on me. All over. It’s okay though, your dad cleaned it up. They took all your vitals and did everything without removing you from my chest. We weighed you a few hours later. 7 lbs 7oz. I love you.

Thank you Tucson Birth Center, for making us all feel at home.

IMG_0537

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Daisy.

  1. Betsy says:

    Noelle, I’m so glad you had such a wonderful experience at the Birth Center, and I hope I get to deliver there some day. Your blog is great! I just discovered it. xo

Leave a Reply

